It Wasn’t Your Time

Last week was the two-year anniversary of “Celebrate Lauren Day”.  An unlicensed driver in oncoming traffic, going 55 miles per hour, decided to turn in front of me, despite the fact that I had the green light to go straight.  I really thought this was the end.

The smacking sounding of the collision was deafening –  followed by the SILENCE that happened right after.  I slowly opened my eyes, scared what I would see.

VAPOR! I screamed a bad word because I thought the Cherubs were checking me out to decide if I went down the “good egg” or “bad egg” shoot.  

I adjusted my crooked glasses and realized that the vapor was the from the deployed air bags, I also noticed my neck was burned from the air bags and I felt like I had been punched in the chest. A pile of glass shards, from the crack-proof windshield, was on my lap. My tongue was swollen because I bit it during the crash. OUCH!!

A witness came running over with a rush of adrenaline and was able to open my pushed-in door to get me out because she was afraid that the car was going to go up in flames.  She patiently took me to the side of the street, spoke to the cops, and made sure I was okay before she took off. 

I couldn’t reach anyone to pick me up so I called my old boss, Dutch. He answered, “What is it now?’  I retorted, “I’m going to be late for work….”  

He graciously came to get me from the other side of the moon and then I said, “Let’s go to work”.  He looked at my totaled car and my bruised face and responded, “Are you kidding me?”  The cop laughed and said, “You’re lucky you walked out of that car, you aren’t going to work today.”

Last year, on the one year anniversary of “Celebrate Lauren Day”, Funny Bone was the only one who remembered and took me out for guacamole at lunch. It was awesome. Granted, I reminded him for about this monumental day, every day for three weeks before hand…but it was really nice. 

This year, I was having a drink with a good friend. At the end of the night, I realized it was the two-year anniversary of “Celebrate Lauren Day”.  He was able to relate to my accident because he was in a car that rolled over a couple of times and thankfully, escaped with himself intact.

He lectured me for not driving his car of choice and asked what I was driving before my current car.  Then, he took the question back. “It doesn’t matter what you drove because it wasn’t your time.”  It was one of those moments you’d see in a Hallmark card commercial. 

The accident made me angry but  also incredibly appreciative and compassionate.  I was hit by an unlicensed driver. I had just put tons of money into a car that had been paid off for a year!  It changed me emotionally, physically, and financially. But, I really got out of this collision relatively unscathed. 

It made me realize to NOT resist the urge to do a nice thing for a stranger.  It you see an accident, is it THAT inconvenient to be a witness? Those few minutes can really help someone. I know of  two co-workers who drove right by and thought it was me but kept going.  

It changed how I think and how I live, and got my head out of the orifice on which I sit; and those are great life lessons.

 

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. In case anyone doesn’t know, you probably owe a lot to Ralph Nader, without whom there would have been no airbag.

  2. So true, Lauren. It’s not much to do to stop and help, or vouch for someone, and your time can make a huge difference for them.

    Glad you are ok.

  3. You’re a lucky lady to be able to walk away from that. Truly Invincible if I do say so myself.

  4. A Twist and A Shake

    WOW! That is very scary, I really like your positive twist. I am glad you are okay!

  1. Pingback: Why Don’t More People Say Thank You? « Rein Rant N' Rave

Leave a Reply

