My Punny Valentine

Growing up with my brother, I was always giddy and full of gratitude.  He loved to trick me into thinking he was being thoughtful as proven when he gave me a big card one Valentine’s Day addressed to “Sister”.   It was a blank card that he wanted me to return to him so he could give to someone else. 

One year I woke up to see hearts made out of red construction paper all over the back lawn popping out of the plentiful snow. My mom and I ran out to the yard to read them.  All of them represented  different nicknames that he had for us and each heart was a different size.

The trail of hearts led to the garage where we saw a huge sign on the windshield of one of the cars.  We saw a big heart made of Andes chocolate mints that he pasted onto the red construction board.

The message read, “You mint alot to me”.  

That moment in time erased the sibling rivalry and ignited my creativity. An invaluable Valentine’s Day gift that I have held onto ever since. 

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

