Just Another Day at the Office

I believe it was the summer of 2003 when a friend of mine and I were “golfing” with the rest of our office, as the result of an incentive at work.   Every year on my birthday, I would drag my family to play miniature golf but the actual sport of golf never spoke to me. So, it wasn’t surprising that Gidget and I were thrown together to create the dynamic divot-making duo that would change the golfing world!

FORE! After many attempts at trying to make contact with the ball and having many anxious golfing foursomes fly past us, we were finally settling in our zone.  I went to pick up my ball on a hill and there were a plethora of them.

Which one was mine?

This moon would be much easier to find than the golf ball I lost that day!

I did what any ill-informed visitor/borderline tourist at a golf course would do. Despite the temptation of sorting through white golf balls and divots, I picked up the golf ball that had the Chicago Bears logo on it. Gidget and I giggled as we looked at our newly discovered buried treasure that revealed itself to us.

Just as the tittering started to fade, a 6’2″ gentleman, resembling a former professional football player, approached us with an inquiry. “Have you seen my golf ball?”

Otis Wilson, former linebacker for the Chicago Bears, was golfing behind us!  He had such a powerful swing that the ball flew by us while we were making divots so we didn’t see it!  He was incredibly kind and good-natured about the lack of golfing etiquette and even gave us some pointers for a couple of holes before he went on his way! 

Sure, our golf scores were pathetic but that dynamic divot-making duo has bragging rights to the memory of golfing with a former Super Bowl Champion, Otis Wilson.  

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

