Getting in Touch with my Family Tree

Every now and then, I feel a pull from part of my family tree that cries, “Uff Da”!  So, it makes perfect sense that I would want to see Garrison Keillor at Ravinia, an outdoor music theatre in the northern suburbs of Chicago. 

Keillor is a great story-teller and can carry a tune. He is perfect for the radio as he speaks in his deep, down-to-earth tone that makes one think of the Common Loon, Minnesota’s state bird.  The bird, crazy, yet beautiful. Resorts come to mind and just easy living in general. I envision shucking corn and shelling peas.  I can smell the aroma of a barbecue and a cold beverage is nearby.

He’s very good at putting people at ease and creating a sense of calm.  He is one of those personalities that makes you think if you went up to him, it would be like seeing an old friend.

As he warmed up the crowd, he came out to meet the people and the crowd went nuts. You could see him in his white suit and red tie while his big tennis shoes flopped about sort of like Goofy’s feet, but not in a bad way. 

Garrison greets the crowd during the warm up at Ravinia

Okay, I know what you are thinking, “Where’s Waldo”? As this photo shows, people go nuts for Garrison singing “My Girl” while shaking the hands of the people.

Close Up of Garrison’s Meet and Greet

Seeing him was the perfect medicine that I needed.  My week had been full of hospital visits and uncertainty.   I ALWAYS think of my mom’s parents when I hear his voice.  It takes me back to my frequent summer visits that I used to make to rural Minnesota. This was like going home again. 

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t know this Garrison guy, but I love outdoor music festivals. Sounds like you had a great time!

  2. Glad you had a wonderful time…stress relievers are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

