Mojo Magic

Last night I drove home from an enjoyable evening and heard a thump as the wheels moved. I looked for my air pressure warning light to go on but it didn’t. I pulled into my garage and inspected my tires.  I saw some lovely scuff marks as a result of my phenomenal parallel parking skills. Fortunately, the way I had parked allowed me to see a massive screw sticking out of one of my back rear tires. 

Lovely. This situation had the recipe for financially painful written all over it. Not to mention that I had to take a day off to get it fixed.  

I decided not to worry about it. I woke up about 7 and called BP Motor Club. I talked in my “I haven’t talked to anyone yet voice” and I think the woman taking the call mistook that for me being upset.  She was very nice and apologetic for my situation.  She said someone would be there within an hour and gave me the number of the towing company that would put on my spare tire for me. 

Around the Clock Roadside Services showed up before the promised hour time frame.  The employee was professional and very gentle with my vehicle.  He looked at my tire and told me immediately that it could be patched which put me at ease. He had trouble with one of my lug  nuts so instead of monkeying with it and possible ruining it, he took the bolt from one of the three that is used on the back of my truck for the spare.  He didn’t leave until he saw that I was driving away and wasn’t bumping up and down like a yoyo on my wheels.  It may not seem like a big deal but when one feels helpless, dealing with nice people makes the situation much more tolerable. 

The night before my dad instructed me, “Take it to Shawnee Service Center  in Wilmette.” So, while I was waiting for roadside service to show up, I called them and told them about my situation. Bob answered the phone and told me not to sweat it.  So, I drove over there and told him that my dad sent me.

He and his crew did a wonderful job. They cleaned out my defunct lug nut to make it work again, patched the tire from the inside, and made sure all my tire pressure was fine.  The bill made me smile, it was far from a financial nightmare, in fact, I won’t even notice the entry on my bill. I told him that I never have his kind of tire karma.  I always get “nailed” in the sidewall and have to get a new tire.  But, not here.  He didn’t look for problems so he could overcharge me for something I didn’t need. He showed me the offending screw and assured me that the tip was the only thing that broke through the tire, the hole was as minute as a needle. I felt charmed the entire time. It was mojo magic. 

When I got home, I called BP Motor Club. They asked how they could help me and I told that I just wanted to say thank you for making my day better. I wanted to make sure that Around the Clock got recognition. As he noted the system, he seemed kind of giddy. People are always calling to complain but it was so nice to call and just express appreciation.  

Nobody is expecting that call. You should try it. 

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I agree with you 100% I try to do the same thing when I come across good customer service. It’s nice to hear the delight in the person’s voice 🙂

  2. Having been at times the person receiving the calls from not-too-pleased customers, I agree that it’s nice to hear compliments instead of complaints.

  3. That was indeed a nice thing you did. Behavioral psychology tells us to reinforce good behavior if you want to see it again and you certainly did. I am sure you made their day!

  4. I’m having trouble believing you had car problems and things worked out well. No way. No how.

  5. Believe it or not, I had a cop change the tire for me.

Leave a Reply

