Dazzling Christmas Lights

When I was a kid, I celebrated Christmas week in the rural midwest with my maternal grandparents and family. Christmas Eve was spent diving in gifts and wrapping paper in my grandparents’ living room. Afterwards, I had the option of doing the dishes or going to church.

On Christmas Day, my family and I would drive three blocks (still kind of crazy that we drove) to see my eccentric great-aunt and gentle great-uncle, “the engineer” with a hard g. He was from Sweden and had really pretty eyes but when he spoke, it sounded like svenska gibberish, and I had no idea what he was saying most of the time.

When we arrived to the house, cousin Muggsy, an obnoxious Boston Terrier, would  eagerly greet us by slobbering all over our legs, biting holes in nylons and causing overall chaos until he was gently directed to the basement. Muggsy morphed into Muggsy 2 and the trilogy ended  with naming her last dog Hercules.  Hercules made the previous Boston Terriers looks like stuffed animals.

As an adult, I stopped traveling north for Christmas but since Thanksgiving, I have been taking long walks after dinner to admire the Christmas lights. Ironically, we have had no snow on the ground, until today.  Here are some photos of treasures taken on my walks.

Reindeer Magic

Reindeer Magic

Simply White

Simply White

This house reminds me of my childhood home - minus the lights, of course.

This house reminds me of my childhood home – minus the lights, of course.

This house is on a busy street and has white lights acting like fireworks above display.

This house is on a busy street and has white lights acting like fireworks above display.

This display evokes Christmas in an elegant way. (note the unintentional rhyme).

This display evokes Christmas in an elegant way. (note the unintentional rhyme).

I liked the wreath.

I liked the wreath.

The side of the house is loaded with lights, so the school can see, I guess.

The side of the house is loaded with lights, very perky!

I love the blue tree and this is the back yard!

I love the blue tree and this is the back yard!

The green is great.

The green is great.

This combo just pops!

This combo just pops!

Textbook Christmas Display!

A for Effort!

A for Effort and Execution!

This display cheers up the street!

This display cheers up the street!

Lots of sparkle!

Lots of sparkle! It’s not that big but it’s grand!

Driving home the other night, this caught my eye. It is massive and gorgeous!

Driving home the other night, this caught my eye. It is massive and gorgeous!

Merry Christmas, I have to finish up the dishes.

Posted on December 25, 2012, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Lovely post. Thanks, and Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

