Mint Melt You Away

To the Rein Rant N’ Rave Nation, thank you for your amazing encouragement regarding my last post. I intend to write about some of the antics that have been going on but I am making a slight diversion as some people have been asking me for the latest recipe of a cookie I made. I know, that’s crazy.  Who would think that this baker extraordinaire, who uses her oven as storage, can bake a yummy cookie.

Last month, I was dragged, kicking and screaming, into a cookie exchange at work for the second year in a row.  Not only were my Reindeer Cookies well received BUT I was able to successfully come up with a way to use the leftover ingredients to make a fabulous cookie.

The inspiration was that someone at work gave me a generous gift of Fannie May Mint Meltaways.  Delicious, of course, but I can’t have a massive box of that temptation in my home.  Solution?

  • Open a packet of Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix. Betty gave me the base to build my impressive cookie. Betty targets bakers like me as I don’t get that genuine joy of putting the flour and all those ingredients together to make a delightful concoction. Trust me, one still has to put effort into making these delights. However, as a superstar baker, I opted for the easy way out, but feel free to make a sugar cookie from scratch. All cookies are unique and should not only look pretty but taste GOOD!  I digress.
  • Take a stick of butter and add it to the bowl.
  • Take an egg and a 1/2 teaspoon of mint extract and mix it up in your blender.
  • If you have a mixer, you are upper class baker, smoosh all of the stuff together to make it look like dough. In my case, I had to mash the ingredients together with my hands.  I washed them often, I promise!
  • Then, take a cup of chocolate chips (they are left over from acting as the nose in the Reindeer Cookie) and the left over Mini M & M chocolate candies (they were the red nose, remember?)  and mush it all together into a pretty multi colored log. Improvise with the amounts as I wasn’t really paying attention, sorry!
  • Bake them for 10 minutes at 350 degrees in an operational oven. You needn’t butter the tray as there is butter in the recipe. Also, I was kind of particular and made sure that each little scoop of dough had a Mini M & M in there.  Hey, it should! It’s what makes the cookie taste really good!

While the cookies are coming to life in the oven, cut the green Fannie May Mint Meltaways in half. Time has passed, you have taken them out of the oven and they have cooled a little but not too much.  Now, you have to be creative in finding the perfect spot on the cookie because you don’t want to crowd out the chocolate chips or Mini M & M.  There is precious real estate but when you find it, take the half of the Fannie May candy and put if green side face up. Smack it on the cookie, but don’t squash it.  Got it?

Each cookie is unique but taste deliriously delicious

Each cookie is unique and tastes deliriously delicious and decadent

Anyone who has tasted this cookie is probably still taking a moment, because it was THAT good.  It’s a moment of  sheer giddiness when you bite into the mint. Sigh.  It was the perfect cookie to bring to a new year’s gathering.

The good news is that the cookie is so good that I will probably not be interested in eating any other cookie.  In fact, I would be all for having a cookie commitment ceremony.  Yep, THAT good.

Believe it or not, I am not that into sweets. This is the second cookie I have baked in my life. I made the brownies last year but they aren’t cookies and I didn’t really make them, my friends did. In fact, I was thrilled when the holidays were over so I wouldn’t be exposed to all of this crap, but  I digress once again.

Mint Melt You Away

Mint Melt You Away

My only complaint is the name.  It’s okay.  Can you think of a better one?

One thought was Rudolph’s Leftovers.  No… Mint Chocolate Triple Threat? I guess I’ll just leave it as Mint Melt You Away…because trust me, you will melt!

Posted on January 3, 2013, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I still like the reindeer peanut butter cookies better….

  2. For someone who doesn’t bake, this was extremely creative.

Leave a Reply

