The Likable Kid

Since college graduations are happening all over the country, it makes me think of my college days and how I used to free-write poetry (that is random flow of thoughts with horrific punctuation) to help me remember certain moments such as my first day as a disc jockey.  When I listen to old air check tapes, I can’t help but laugh. It’s as if I was Howard Stern when he started out with his high voice and then learned to lower it into his trademark sound. 

My passion for radio continued and morphed into a morning drive-time radio show during my senior year with one of my best friends. It was a blast and definitely a highlight of college.  As an alternative radio station, we would scour the record library to find a ridiculous title such as Old Skull’s riveting “Hot Dog Hell” which I can’t believe I just found on You Tube!!  The first time we played it, we just looked at each other in awe that these young nine and ten-year-old whippersnappers had not only formed a band, but made a record with inarticulate screaming. How can you not be intrigued by a title such as that one?!

I’ll never forget the delight of going back to school after graduation and hearing a dear friend on the radio announcing a song as I drove through town. To this day, he is still on radio. Kudos to that “Man on the Street”!

______________________________________________________________

My stomach was trembling as I entered the hallway leading to the college radio station.

My first hour on the air

was about to be history.

Nervousness evident as cassettes hit the floor,

yet excited to play the music.

Buttons, dials and knobs –

all objects that will work with the

touch of my hands.

Dead air is my only enemy.

I will have to master this technology

quickly.

How does all this all come together?

The mic light is on.

My voice is heard.

People look at me in the booth

through the sparkling glass

as I sort the carts and watch the clock.

Slowly, my nerves aren’t weakening me and

my confidence emerges.

Hey, hey, this is LK the DJ

I’ll see you next week.

 

 

Posted on May 27, 2013, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. As the other half of that morning radio show … Hot Dog Hell was definitely one to remember! So many (now) laughable moments!

  2. Yes, indeed, Danz & Lanz was right up there 😉

  3. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to mention that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

Leave a Reply

