2109 Steps Up the Willis Tower

And that’s taking the stairs, not the elevator!

Getting back into the stair climb state of mind

Getting back into the stair climb state of mind

Last year I climbed 2,109 stairs/103 flights to the skydeck of the Willis Tower in Chicago. I had five weeks to train and I made it up all of the steps with a collection of fabulous firemen waiting to be in photos with me. Could be worse!  Exhilarating! Exhausting! Here’s a flashback to last year’s climb.

Revving the engine to get to the top

Revving the engine to get to the top

It’s hard to believe that it’s time for me to start thinking about this climb again. Especially since I feel like I JUST caught my breath.  This year, I have a little less than three months to train.  Not quite as much pressure but I obviously want to beat last year’s time and raise more money for Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago.

This climb's going into overdrive!

This climb’s going into overdrive!

I have a different workout regimen this year – since I am still in the summer season.  I am playing tennis, croquet, riding my bike and doing the Insanity Workout on the bad weather days. I’m hopeful I will find some closer skyscrapers so I don’t have to take so many trips up and down to get to 2,109 during my practice runs.  I remember during a practice climb last year, I saw this guy going up a bunch of stairs so I decided to make conversation in hopes that he wouldn’t find it odd that I was working out on his stairs. Sure enough, he had done a huge mountain climb the previous year, training on those very stairs!

Is it just me or have I been on the same step for the last four frames?!

Is it just me or have I been on the same step for the last four frames?!

Doesn’t matter where the steps are, it’s great to be climbing again!

Follow-through on 2,109 step! (power of positive thinking since that would require 38 trips up and down).

Follow-through on 2,109 step! (power of positive thinking since that would require 38 trips up and down).

It’s like I always say, “commit to fun” and thanks to my future members of Team Lauren for cheering me on!

Posted on August 11, 2013, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are an inspiration for me Lauren. I have 4 weeks to train for Muddrella, something I would NEVER consider in a million years…but as I border 50 I think “why the hell not!” I remembered you training for this last year and taking on the Insanity workout. Your attitude towards these challenges inspired me and I wanted you to know. Good luck!

  2. Thank you so much, LIFE, what a wonderful comment to wake up to! I think the Muddrella looks like a blast, I am so excited to hear more about that, keep on training!

  1. Pingback: 4 Years of Ranting and Raving | Rein Rant N' Rave

Leave a Reply

