Christmas Light Delight

Last night, despite the frigid weather, I covered up in warm clothing so I could walk around town to complete my annual mission of capturing Christmas lights on film. The slabs of concrete were slick with ice and crunched as I spotted various delightful lit up displays. I waited for my blurred lenses to de-fog and used my fingers (slowly transforming into icicles) to snap some shots.

Starring...star lights!

Starring…star lights!

Classic Christmas Feel - with a wreath, of course!

Classic Christmas Feel – with a wreath, of course!

Love the wreath and all of the color!

Love the wreath and all of the color!

The white looks like cotton and the colorful wreath pops!

The white looks like cotton and the colorful wreath pops!

It's a window.. and a wreath!

It’s a window.. and a wreath!

Wreath Power!

Wreath Power!

These people take decorating seriously!

These people take decorating seriously – note one of the snowmen is reclining – very laid back!

Here is the side of their house - they love snowmen!

Here is the side of their house – they love snowmen!

Subtle but nice

Subtle and effective.

This house lights up the block!

This house lights up the block!

White lights - white snow - taken just as the sky became dark.

White lights – white snow – taken as the sky turned dark.

Branching out... to color

Branching out… to color.

Color and more color!

Color and more color!

How can you not smile when you see lights like these? I thanked the owner when I walked by.

How can you not smile when you see lights like these? I thanked the owner when I walked by.

Cheerful!

Cheerful!

Lots of color and this is just one side of the house!

Lots of color and this is just one side of the house!

Outlined house has it all...including

Outlined house has it all…including

Santa!

Santa!

Reindeer pops with the color behind!

Reindeer and look at all of the color!

Snoopy is watching over the street!

I was not expecting to see Snoopy – but it made my night!

This time of year takes me back to my childhood and the plethora of Christmas Eves that I spent in northern Minnesota with my maternal side of family.  Many of those characters are no longer with us.  The remaining family members stay in touch via texting and Facebook.  Whenever  I see Christmas lights, I think of all of them.

May these photos bring you good cheer and Merry Christmas Eve!

Posted on December 24, 2013, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey Lauren
    great photos
    wishing you a very happy new year

Leave a Reply

