How to Blast Past the Blues

Melancholia seems to be all around us these days and it’s easy to get sucked into the negative vortex.  Those who get served constant helpings of unwanted or undeserved mind screw soufflé can become frustrated or blue. I have no shame in realizing that I am disenchanted by people who represent themselves as sincere but are disingenuous.

Fear prompts the blues and insincerity is caused by fear.

To get past this yucky feeling, I rant! I say some inappropriate words but am usually able to put a funny spin on a disappointing situation. I can laugh at myself and have to. During moments like these, my writer’s block is no longer an obstacle because I can just write without distraction.

Last night, one of my lifelong friends gave me a pencil because none of my pens were working and challenged me to wax poetic. I laughed at the thought.  I hadn’t written poems since college. For inspiration, I took out my old book of rantings and ravings which included my touching Wiffleball Wonderland poem that I wrote about my childhood neighbors, but I digress. Over the next couple of hours, I just blurted out words. By the end of the evening, eight words came out:

Roses are red,

disingenuous two

insincerity one

Zero you. 

It’s not about being hurt or deceived, it’s about how fear can sabotage ripping through the layers of getting to know people. People who could have become a part of your life had there not been elements of untruths.

Fortunately, as I alluded to in an earlier post this week that I wrote when I already realized I was being taken for a ride, I have a solid inner circle of people who instantly blow helium back into me and I am back to serving one-liners rather quickly.   Those people are genuine, creative, funny, thoughtful, and kind. And that is how you blast past the blues.

 

Posted on March 29, 2014, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

