You Should Totally Write a Blog About That…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Take It From Me.”  What’s the best piece of advice you’ve given someone that you failed to take yourself? This one is so simple. You just start a blog and write about….” I find myself saying that to so many people in my life.

Yet, It has been weeks, if not months, where I have gotten back on track with my own blog.  I keep giving myself an out with a cornucopia of vacuous excuses. I have the time NOW to do it and I haven’t.

Which leads me to the second bit of advice I give to everyone and abuse it chronically.  Do not squander time….”   

Instead of directing someone to write about the topics on my mind, it’s time to step it up and get it done myself.

I wrenched my back, last Friday, moments before I was going to play some much-needed tennis.  This wasn’t a little back strain, this was like having a set of teeth crunch my back each time I moved it a certain way and i did this same maneuver about four years ago to the day.

I was amazed by how truly kind people can be when they find out someone else is in physical (or emotional) pain. I was walking at a fair in my neighborhood, last Sunday, and a chiropractor recognized me from a town meeting and could see that my back was out of whack.  At that moment he transformed into a Knight in Shining Armor as he found a bench and gave me a free adjustment!  I was dazed, delighted, and relieved.

Sure, he wants my future business and knows I will be beaming about this tale for quite some time and get him some more business – which he absolutely deserves.  But that act of generosity improved my quality of life at that moment, exponentially; as did the kindness of others that weekend (on Facebook and in real life) and shame of me if I forget to  write those moments down.

Posted on June 26, 2015, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Glad you are feeling better! I am glad the chiropractor was able to help you. You are right – it is a great story😊

Leave a Reply

