Charming Christmas Lights 2015

It’s that time of year again!  The time to capture those delightful lights. The weather in the center of the US has been incredibly mild so I have yet to see the lights in snow, but I can’t say I am complaining since it has given me the opportunity to take long walks on many nights to take in the sights.

When I was a kid, I celebrated Christmas week in the rural midwest with my maternal grandparents and family. Christmas Eve was spent diving in gifts and wrapping paper in my grandparents’ living room. Afterwards, I had the option of doing the dishes or going to church.

On Christmas Day, my family and I would drive three blocks (still kind of crazy that we took the car) to see my eccentric great-aunt and gentle great-uncle, “the engineer” with a hard g. He was from Sweden and had really pretty eyes but when he spoke, it sounded like svenska gibberish, and I had no idea what he was saying most of the time.

When we arrived to the house, cousin Muggsy, an obnoxious Boston Terrier, would eagerly greet us by slobbering all over our legs, biting holes in nylons and causing overall chaos until he was gently directed to the basement. Muggsy morphed into Muggsy 2 and the trilogy ended with naming her last dog Hercules. Hercules made the previous Boston Terriers look like stuffed animals.

There were tons of homemade cookies in the back of the house and my other great-aunt would squeal, “Would you like to have a coooookie?” and her sister would back it up with, “Have one of eaaaaaach!”  But I digress.

I saw many wreaths with lights this year, but this one is my favorite.

I saw many wreaths with lights this year, but this one is my favorite.

Cheerful part of the street!

Cheerful part of the street!

IMG_1984

IMG_1967

IMG_1978

IMG_1976

The courtyard behind the arch with the icicles.

The courtyard behind the arch with the icicles.

Spectacular courtyard!

Spectacular courtyard!

IMG_1963

Starry, starry night.

Reindeer!

Yes, I saw a flamingo in lights...

Yes, I saw a flamingo in lights…

What do you call those characters on the left?! I see them in promos when I go see a movie...

Inflatable characters were big this year.

IMG_1966

Snowman takes place of the actual snow.

IMG_1961

Laser lights were huge this year. They appear as a sheet of lights.

Laser lights were huge this year. They appear as a sheet of lights.

More laser lights.

More laser lights.

IMG_1979

Purple and green lights caught my attention!

Purple and green lights caught my attention!

IMG_1965

It’s on the corner of a street and just pops.

This animated display in an apartment window has various designs.

Candy cane joy…

IMG_1932

IMG_1977

Pretty grand for a treat in front of a house!

This cheerful tree is by one of the elevated train stops in town.

This cheerful tree is by one of the elevated train stops in town.

IMG_1934

I wish you a chaos-free Christmas, with many cookies to sample with family and friends…and if you’re lucky;  you won’t have to do the dishes.  Merry Christmas!

Posted on December 25, 2015, in Rant, Rave and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dear Lauren,

    I noticed, of course, the purple wreathe. I enjoyed Christmas in Chicago. Meeting you on the train was one of my high points.

    Shalom and happy new year,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

